Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Lock Down

I can start to see all my classmates locking down and getting down to some serious business with their studying. I feel that urge too now. Not only am I behind in my blog posts, I'm also majorly behind on my studies. It kinda freaks me out when I see my colleagues so persistent throughout the term. I guess everyone has their own study methods and I still need to accept that for myself. I've gotten used to cramming a lot of information in my head in a short period of time during my years in undergrad, and I realize that this isn't the best way to do things now in med school especially if we're learning for the sake of actually retaining this knowledge in a practical sense for our future clinical work. But then again, some people told me that half of what I learn in medical school now won't really be applicable anyway when I'm really out there working. For now, I'm just going to revert back to my usual, and maybe in 2nd term, I'll be a more responsible student in terms of persistency in my studies. There is much needed due diligence on this matter. They also say that how we act in medical school will be a reflection of how we act as future physicians. And if this is the case, I don't think my current study habits will be well translated into my future work ethic. I want my future patients to know that I'm giving them my 100% every day. No excuses.

No comments:

Post a Comment